Leasure time and fun
Natura 2000 sites
We are proud
Come and explore the wonderful Land of Volcanoes and discover the legend of Saint Anne Lake.
Chapels and pilgrimages at Lake Saint Anne
Authors generally share the view that in the past as many as 20,000-30,000 people took part in the indulgence day pilgrimages (though this number seems exaggerated). Also, there is no debate on the fact that owing to always-recurring fights and other offences among the pilgrims, in 1786 Ignác Batthány, Bishop of Transylvania, had to put a stop to the pilgrimage. In 1830 Bishop Miklós Kovács permitted the organisation of pilgrimages at the chapel, but he had to ban them again in 1844, due to similar reasons.
Military topographic maps made in the Austrian-Hungarian Monarchy show one chapel on the shore of the lake. On the first military maps made by the Austrian Army between 1763-1787 there is only one chapel on the place of today's Saint Anne chapel. The second military topographic survey of Transylvania took place between 1819-1869. This map shows the ruins of a chapel, while a third map – issued after the 1872-1884 survey – shows not only a chapel but also a cemetery on the shore of the lake.
According to the data provided by Vicar András Balázs, the chapel was rebuilt in 1927, and pilgrimages were organised until the end of the Second World War. In 1972 Ferenc Szabó, Vicar of Csíkkozmás, carried out major repairs on the chapel. Other sources claim that the restoration of the building was encouraged by the Minister of Culture, János Fazekas. The works started in 1976 and ended in 1977. The wrought-iron door of the bell tower was designed by Sándor Károly, an artist from Kolozsvár, and was manufactured by the famous blacksmith of Csíkkozmás, Jenő Máté. The bell cast in 1924 was also placed in the belfry.
Saint Anne day pilgrimages have been organised again since 1990.
The legends of Lake Saint Anne
The hermit of Lake Saint Anne
The echo of Lake Saint Anne
Whirlpools in Lake Saint Anne